Minutes of the Board of Education of Independent School District No. 630. Red Lake Falls, MN.

The Board of Education held their regular board meeting on February 23, 2011, in the Lafayette Media Center.

Members present: Deb Amiot, Wayne Hanson, Wes Largis, Mike Swendra, Gary Thibert and Superintendent Joel Young.

Members absent: Reed Engelstad, Jenny Schmitz. Absent also was Principal Brad Kennett.

Also in attendance were: Jan Anderson- J.A. Hughes Principal, John Bohnenkamp from Marco, Bev Philion- LHS teacher, Tyler Hensel-LHS student, Kelsee Baird-LHS student, Steve Olson & Jon Smith from Garden Valley Telephone Co., and Sheila Reich- J.A. Hughes Para.

The meeting was called to order at 6:03 P.M.

Wes Largis moved, Gary Thibert seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the agenda as presented/modified. Passed by unanimous vote.

Deb Amiot moved, Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the minutes of the January 20, 2011 regular meeting as presented. Passed by unanimous vote.

Wayne Hanson moved, Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the money transfers, the Treasurer's Report and approve the payment of checks 56763-56918 for claims submitted and properly approved by the board. Passed by unanimous vote.

There were no committee reports.

Gary Thibert moved, Deb Amiot seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the second reading of the 2011-2012 school calendar. Passed by unanimous vote.

Gary Thibert, moved Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to create a camera committee for reviewing the two camera proposals from Marco and Garden Valley. New camera committee members are: Chairman Mike Swendra, Wes Largis, Wayne Hanson, Jan Anderson and Brad Kennett. Passed by unanimous vote.

The following teachers qualifying for tenure this spring are Carly Kleven at JA Hughes Elementary and Lacie Hovland at Lafayette High School.

Policy 701.2 Fund Balance was given to the board to review.

The school board cast their vote for Dean Rasmussen of Fertile-Beltrami for a seat on the NW Regional Development Commission.

A thank you note was reviewed from Paula Miller and one from her family members.

Mrs. Anderson and Mr. Young gave reports. Mr. Kennett had submitted a written report in his absence.

Gary Thibert moved, Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to adjourn the meeting at 8:07 PM. Passed by unanimous vote.

Mike Swendra, Chairman	Reed Engelstad, Clerk