Minutes of the Board of Education of Independent School District No. 630. Red Lake Falls, MN.

The Board of Education held their regular board meeting on July 19, 2010 in the Lafayette Media Center.

Members present: Deb Amiot, Reed Engelstad, Wayne Hanson, Jenny Schmitz, Mike Swendra, and Superintendent Joel Young.

Members absent: Wes Largis and Gary Thibert.

Also in attendance were Jan Anderson, Brad Kennett, Brian Remick and Paula Miller.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

Deb Amiot moved, Reed Engelstad seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the minutes of the June 21 regular meeting and special meeting on June 28,2010 as presented. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Reed Engelstad seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the money transfers, the Treasurer's Report and approve the payment of checks 55848-55961 for claims submitted and properly approved by the board. Passed by unanimous vote.

There were no Committee Reports.

Reed Engelstad moved, Wayne Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to award the bid for bread products for the 2010-2011 school year to Sara Lee. Passed by unanimous vote.

Deb Amiot moved, Jenny Schmitz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to award the bid for milk products for the 2010-2011 school year to Land O Lakes. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Deb Amiot seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to award the bid for repair of the Hughes parking lot to Tri State Paving. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Wayne Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOVLED to approve the 2010 Facility Use Agreement with the following amendment: Prior termination agreement for unforeseen circumstances. Passed by unanimous vote.

Reed Engelstad moved, seconded by Deb Amiot the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the increases in the 2010-2011 Feed Schedule for the Red Lake Falls School District. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Reed Engelstad seconded to designate the following people: Pam Page, Cindy Ducharme and Joel S. Young as authorized signing officers for the MSDLAF and related accounts for the 2010-2011 fiscal year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Wayne Hanson moved, Deb Amiot seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to name Mike Swendra as the hearing officer to hear appeals on eligibility for free and reduced priced meals for the 2010-2011 school year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Deb Amiot moved, Reed Engelstad seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to continue with an offer vs. serve lunch program for districts students for the 2010-2011 school year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Reed Engelstad moved, Jenny Schmitz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the Health and Safety Report as presented/amended. Passed by unanimous vote.

Wayne Hanson moved, Jenny Schmitz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to set a date and time for the truth-in-taxation meeting in December at the regular meeting. Passed by unanimous vote.

Reed Engelstad moved, Deb Amiot seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to renew the MSBA membership for the 2010-2011 school year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Reed Engelstad moved, Jenny Schmitz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to participate in the sale of Aid Anticipation Certificates through Springsted Incorporated for purposes of cash flow borrowing. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Wayne Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve resolution establishing dates for filing affidavits of candidacy. Passed by unanimous vote.

Reed Engelstad, Clerk

Mike Swendra, Chairman