Minutes of the Board of Education of Independent School District No. 630. Red Lake Falls, MN.

The Board of Education held their regular board meeting on January 20, 2010 in the Lafayette Media Center.

Members Present: Deb Amiot, Reed Engelstad, Wayne Hanson, Jenny Schmitz, Mike Swendra, Gary Thibert and Superintendent Joel Young.

Members Absent: Wes Largis

Also in attendance were High School Principal Brad Kennett, Elementary Principal Jan Anderson as well as the following visitors: Bev Philion, Linda Johnston, Jodi Berdahl, Tyler Hensel, Eric Derosier, Kelsey Baird and Jason Kenfield.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m.

Jenny Schmitz motioned, Wayne Hanson seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the agenda as (presented/modified). Passed by unanimous vote.

Board Reorganization - Election of Officers: Gary Thibert motioned, Deb Amiot seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to declare Mike Swendra as Chairperson for the 2011 year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz motioned, Deb Amiot seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to declare Wes Largis as Vice-Chair for the 2011 year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Wayne Hanson motioned, Deb Amiot seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to declare Gary Thibert as Treasurer for the 2011 year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Wayne Hanson motioned, Jenny Schmitz seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to declare Reed Engelstad Clerk for the 2011 year. Passed by unanimous vote.

Deb Amiot, Jenny Schmitz and Wayne Hanson were declared Directors for 2011. Passed by unanimous vote

Representative Assignments: Gary Thibert motioned, Jenny Schmitz seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to declare the following board members representatives for: Wes Largis - MSHSL, Mike Swendra – MSBA, Wayne Hanson – Continuing Education Committee, Wes Largis – ITV Board Representative, Mike Swendra – Pine to Prairie, Mike Swendra – Negotiations, Deb Amiot, Wayne Hanson and Gary Thibert – Policy Review Committee, Gary Thibert, Wayne Hanson and Wes Largis – Building and Grounds, Deb Amiot, Jenny Schmitz and Mike Swendra – Meet and Confer. Passed by unanimous vote.

Board Representaives to Advisory Committees: Gary Thibert motioned, Jenny Schmitz seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to declare the following board members to these committees: Community Education – Wayne Hanson and Reed Engelstad, Foundation – Wayne Hanson, Jenny Schmitz, and Reed Engelstad, Grad. Standards/K-12 Curr. – Deb Amiot, Wayne Hanson & Gary Thibert Safety – Gary Thibert and Mike Swendra, Sportsmanship/Extra-Curr. – Wes Largis and Mike Swendra, Staff Development – Reed Engelstad and Wayne Hanson/alternate, Technology – Reed Engelstad, Wes Largis, and Deb Amiot, Honors – Wayne Hanson, Reed Engelstad and Jenny Schmitz. Passed by unanimous vote.

Motion by Jenny Schmitz, Wayne Hanson seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to name the Red Lake Falls Gazette as official newspaper for 2011.

Motion by Gary Thibert, Jenny Schmitz seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to name Unity Bank North and the Minnesota School District Liquid Assets Fund the official depositories for school funds for 2011.

Motion by Reed Engelstad, Deb Amiot seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED that Superintendent Young and/or the Treasurer be authorized to invest available cash on hand from the school distric funds as excess cash flow limitations allow. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the investments be limited to passbook savings and time investments, as permitted by law.

Motion by Reed Engelstad, Deb Amiot seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to set the board members rate as follows: \$100 per regular meeting, \$120 regular meeting for Chair, \$50 Special Meeting rate per meeting attended; and Committee Meeting rate \$25 per meeting attended. Passed by unanimous vote.

Motion by Gary Thibert, Jenny Schmitz seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to schedule the Regular School Board Meeting on the 3rd Monday at 7:00 p.m. in the media center except for February 21st, 2011 (President's Day). This meeting will be held on February 23rd at 6:00 p.m. in the media center. Passed by unanimous vote.

Deb Amiot motioned, Reed Engelstad seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED that the minutes of the December 20, 2010, Regular Meeting be (approved/modified) as presented. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz motioned, Wayne Hanson seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the claims against the district, the Treasurer's Report, approval of payment for checks 56640-56762, and the Minnesota Liquid Asset Fund Transfers. Passed by unanimous vote.

Old Business:

2nd reading of the 2011-2012 school calendar.

Wayne Hanson motioned, Gary Thibert seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve policies 413, 514, and 526 on harassment, violence, bullying prohibition and hazing prohibition. Passed by unanimous vote.

New Business:

2010-2011 review of the budget.

Fund Raising concerns were sent to the committee to address by Chairman Swendra.

Jenny Schmitz motioned, Wayne Hanson seconded the motion: BE IT RESOLVED to have MSBA review the Master Agreement contract. Passed by unanimous vote.

Gary Thibert motioned, Deb Amiot seconded the motion: by unanimous vote.	BE IT RESOLVED to adjourn the meeting at 8:20 p.m. Passed
Mike Swendra, Chairman	Reed Engelstad, Clerk