Minutes of the Board of Education of Independent School District No. 630. Red Lake Falls, MN.

The Board of Education held their regular board meeting on February 18, 2010, in the Lafayette Media Center.

Members present: Deb Amiot, Wayne Hanson, Wes Largis, Jenny Schmitz, Mike Swendra, Gary Thibert and Superintendent Joel Young.

Members absent: Reed Engelstad.

Also in attendance were Jan Anderson, Mike Spurgin, Bev Philion and Destiny Harmoning.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the agenda as presented. Passed by unanimous vote.

Gary Thibert moved, Deb Amiot seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the minutes of the January 11, 2010, regular meeting as presented. Passed by unanimous vote.

Wayne Hanson moved, Gary Thibert seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the money transfers, the Treasurer's Report and approve the payment of checks 55222-55398 for claims submitted and properly approved by the board. Passed by unanimous vote.

There were no committee reports.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the second reading of the 2010-2011 school calendar. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Wayne Hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOVLED to approve the 2009-2010 updated budget. Passed by unanimous vote.

Jenny Schmitz moved, Wes Largis seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the resignation, with regrets, of Deb Salberg, elementary teacher at J.A.Hughes Elemetnary, effective June 30, 2010. Passed by unanimous vote.

Deb Amiot moved, Wayne hanson seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to approve the 2009-2010 contracts of Janet Anderson, Elementary Principal and Don Johanneck, Drama. Passed by unanimous vote.

Mr. Young informed the board, per request, that the following teachers will be tenured this coming Spring: Jannelle Knott, Elementary; Jessica Sandness, Elementary; and Jennifer Roff, Elementary.

Wes Largis moved, Deb Amiot seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOL VED to approve the assignment of Mr. Kennett from Dean of Students to K-12 Principal, as he now holds a K-12 Principal license. Congratulations were given to Mr. Kennett. Passed by unanimous vote.

A thank you note was reviewed from the family of Richard Nelson.

Mrs. Anderson and Mr. Young gave reports. Mr. Kennett had submitted a written report in his absence.

Gary Thibert moved, Jenny Schmitz seconded the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 PM. Passed by unanimous vote.

Mike Swendra, Chairman	Reed Engelstad, Clerk